Mask mandate? Kansas COVID-19 County Response Policies map can keep you informed


FILE – In this Wednesday, Sept. 16, 2020 file photo, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Director Dr. Robert Redfield puts his mask back on after speaking at a Senate Appropriations subcommittee hearing on a “Review of Coronavirus Response Efforts” on Capitol Hill in Washington. In mid-November 2020, U.S. health officials took a new tack to encourage Americans to wear masks, by emphasizing recent research that finds wearing one protects the person who wears it. (AP Photo/Andrew Harnik, Pool)

TOPEKA, Kan. (KSNT) – Unsure whether your county has a mask mandate? Are you traveling inside the state and unaware if the county you are going requires a mask?

The Kansas COVID-19 County Response Policies map is an interactive map that lets you glide your cursor over any county in Kansas and find out quickly.

In Northeast Kansas many counties have implemented some type of mask mandate in accordance to Gov. Laura Kelly’s recommendation.

Brown County:

Clay County:

  • Effective Thursday, Nov. 12, the Clay County Commissioners passed a mask mandate. The mandate will be reviewed on Monday, Nov. 30. If you are out in public or meeting the public to do business in your office, you will need to wear a mask, according to the county.

Franklin County:

  • On July 3, Franklin County decided honor Gov. Laura Kelly’s statewide mask mandate. The county urges all residents to wear a mask in public, although they recognize they aren’t in a position to enforce a State Order.

Geary County:

  • Geary County created a county wide mask mandate that went into effect on Sunday, Oct. 18, and will remain in effect until further notice.

Jackson County:

  • As of Friday, Nov. 13, Jackson County announced they will follow Gov. Laura Kelly’s mask mandate, despite opting out in July. The order will be reviewed on Monday, Nov. 23.

Jefferson County:

Lyon County:

  • As of Sunday, Nov. 15, the Lyon County Board of Health issued a county wide mask mandate. Masks must be worn inside or in any public space, according to the county. Masks should also be worn on public transportation and when outdoors in public places, if there is no social distancing.

Marshall County:

Miami County:

Morris County:

  • The Morris County Health officer has ordered a mask mandate beginning on July 10. This order will remain in effect until dismantled by the Morris County Health Officer.

Nemaha County:

Shawnee County:

Wabaunsee County:

  • Effective Tuesday, Nov. 10, the Wabaunsee County Commission implemented a mask mandate for all public business at the county courthouse and any other county offices and buildings. All members of the public must have a mask in these locations and County employees will wear a mask during their interaction with the public, according to the county.
  • In addition, the County Health Department is closed to the public through Friday, Nov. 20 due to staffing shortfalls.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories