Governor Kelly declares state of emergency because of flooding


Natoma Flooding (Courtesy Justin Wieger)

TOPEKA (KSNW) — Kansas Governor Laura Kelly has issued a state of disaster emergency declaration for flooding that started over the weekend.

The action authorizes the use of state resources and personnel to assist with response and recovery operations in counties that meet certain criteria.

The counties included are Anderson, Atchison, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Linn, Lyon, McPherson, Miami, Morris, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Reno, Rooks, Russell, Saline, Shawnee, and Wabaunsee.

“We urge residents to be aware of their safety,” Kelly said in a statement. “Flood waters can be deceptive. Although people often think of tornadoes as the big destructive force of nature in Kansas, floods can be just as damaging, if not more so. Floods affect many, many square miles, destroying or damaging roads, bridges, power lines and other vital infrastructure. I am signing this declaration to help these county governments quickly restore infrastructure and get things back to normal for their citizens.”

To check on road conditions in Kansas, visit The website also lets you click on highway cameras.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories