Lawson named to midseason Naismith watch list


Kansas redshirt-junior Dedric Lawson has been named one of 30 men’s basketball players to the Citizen Naismith Trophy Midseason Team competing to receive the 51st Citizen Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tip Off Club announced Wednesday. Lawson is vying to become the third Jayhawk to win the Naismith Trophy with Danny Manning claiming the honor in 1988 and Frank Mason III last season in 2017.

Lawson leads the Big 12 in scoring at 19.4 points per game and rebounding with a 10.6 average. The Memphis, Tennessee native has five double-doubles in his last eight games and is the only player in the Big 12 averaging a double-double. Lawson has a Big 12-leading 16 double-doubles for the season, which is tied for third nationally.

On most every national player of the year watch lists and a Sporting News Midseason All-America First Team selection, Lawson has scored 20 or more points in 13 games this season, including four of the last seven contests. A three-time Big 12 Player of the Week (11/12, 11/26, 12/26) and five-time league newcomer of the week (12/3, 12/17, 1/14, 1/28, 2/11), Lawson leads KU with 28 blocked shots and his 1.1 blocks per game are fifth in the conference and his 50.6 field goal percentage is also fifth.

From this list for the Naismith Trophy, 10 semifinalists will be revealed on March 6, and only those 10 players are eligible for the group of four finalists, which will be released on March 17. Fans, once again, will be able to vote for their favorite player by visiting between March 22-April 3 to cast their ballot, and the fan component counts for five percent of the overall final vote. The 51st Citizen Naismith Trophy will be awarded on April 7 in Minneapolis, during the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

Overall, the midseason team represents twelve conferences with the ACC leading the way with seven players, followed closely by the BIG EAST and the Big Ten with four each.

Citizen Naismith Trophy Midseason Team

Nickeil Alexander-WalkerSo.GVirginia TechACC
R.J. BarrettFr.FDukeACC
Phil BoothSr.GVillanovaBIG EAST
Ignas BrazdeikisFr.FMichiganBig Ten
Jordan CarolineSr.G/FNevadaMountain West
Brandon ClarkeJr.FGonzagaWCC
Chris ClemonsSr.GCampbellBig South
Jarrett CulverSo.GTexas TechBig 12
Jarron CumberlandJr.GCincinnatiAAC
Mike DaumSr.FSouth Dakota St.Summit League
Carsen EdwardsJr.GPurdueBig Ten
Kyle GuyJr.GVirginiaACC
Rui HachimuraJr.FGonzagaWCC
Ethan HappSr.FWisconsinBig Ten
Markus HowardJr.GMarquetteBIG EAST
De’Andre HunterSo.GVirginiaACC
Cameron JohnsonSr.GNorth CarolinaACC
Caleb MartinSr.FNevadaMountain West
C.J. MassinburgSr.GBuffaloMAC
Luke MayeSr.FNorth CarolinaACC
Ja MorantSo.GMurray StateOVC
Eric PaschallSr.FVillanovaBIG EAST
Shamorie PondsJr.GSt. John’sBIG EAST
Admiral SchofieldSr.GTennesseeSEC
Marial ShayokSr.GIowa StateBig 12
P.J. WashingtonSo.FKentuckySEC
Grant WilliamsJr.FTennesseeSEC
Zion WilliamsonFr.FDukeACC
Cassius WinstonJr.GMichigan StateBig Ten

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories