Two Kansas students named 2016 Presidential Scholars

school books, school, education, college, university, high school (AP)_194843

TOPEKA, Kan. (KSNT) — Two Kansas students have been named 2016 U.S. Presidential Scholars by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars.

Ten Kansas students were named semifinalists for the 2016 Presidential Scholars Program and two were selected as Presidential Scholars: Jenny Huang from Leawood, who goes to Phillips Academy, and Nicolas Rodriguez from Olathe, who goes to Olathe Northwest High School.

Huang and Rodriguez have been invited to the National Recognition Program, which will be in Washington, D.C. in June.

According to the Kansas State Department of Education, the students “demonstrated leadership, scholarship, contribution to school and community and outstanding accomplishments in the arts, sciences, humanities and other fields of interest.”

Huang and Rodriguez were also both recommended for Scholar in the Arts awards.

Three of the 10 semifinalists were recommended for the Career and Technical Education Scholar Award:

  • Samantha L. Beauchamp from Mayetta, who goes to Holton High School.
  • Jameson T. Brehm from Perry, who goes to Perry-Lecompton High School.
  • Michael Olson from Olsburg, who goes to Blue Valley High School.

The other five semifinalists recommended for the Arts Scholar Award are:

  • Orunima Chakraborti from Overland Park, who goes to Blue Valley North High School.
  • Disha Dasgupta from Olathe, who goes to Olathe North High School.
  • Daniel R. Henry from Leawood, goes to attends Rockhurst High School.
  • Anders V. Pearson from Overland Park, who goes to Blue Valley Northwest High School.
  • Suruchi A. Ramanujan from Overland Park, who goes to Blue Valley Northwest High School.

Complete List of 2016 Scholars

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories